Jesica’s Story One mistake didn’t kill her—the organ donor system was fatally flawed

After reading this article I can’t help but realize that a lot of things always get blown way out of proportion because of media attention.  After reading a headline like this, it makes the reader go into the article thinking that the system has been killing people; and depending on how its read it can almost be construed that they have been killing and not even caring.  This is most definitely not the case.  I can’t help myself from getting a little irritated at this situation, with the information that was given me through this article.  Don’t get me wrong, the system had its flaws for sure and the doctor messed up, but we are people and people make mistakes.  The idea is to learn from these mistakes and not make them again.

The thing that irritates me is that I cannot get over the fact that illegal immigrants came to this country and received FREE medical attention, while middle class Americans who pay their taxes and live here and can barely afford basic medical attention let alone two transplants.  It also irritates me that just because of this situation that Duke has now created a special fund just for Latino children.  As a white, working, taxpaying citizen I feel like, especially in today’s age, that I am very under privileged.  This is just another story where, in my opinion, America needs to step up and do something about its illegal’s.  Let’s face it if there weren’t illegal’s this would not have happened to this particular person.

To view article visit:

http://www.business.unr.edu/faculty/simmonsb/badm720/notes720.html
and click on News Article: Jessica’s Story

Leave a Reply

